That’s Twice This Week

2:13 pm.

This makes me sick, posting about this topic twice in the same week. Just that it has happened twice this week is what angers me so much.

In the middle of the school day today (it is 5th period right now), my mom texts me and informs me that there has been a shooting at an elementary school in Connecticut. An elementary school.

The death toll is 27 people so far: the shooter, eight adults, and 18 children. The age range for the children is five to ten years old. This is the second deadliest shooting at a school–the deadliest was Virginia Tech.

I can’t imagine how the parents of those children (and the children of those adults, if they have any) are feeling right now. They sent their children to school, which should be a safe place. I think everyone in the world can agree that school should be a safe place for a child. And what happened? Now they’re gone. I am so deeply sorry and sad for you who have lost family or friends from this shooting.

Honestly, this makes me afraid for my own safety.

I’m scared, and I can’t tell you how much I want this ever-increasing gun violence issue in America to end.

**UPDATE: the toll has risen to 20 children total.

**UPDATE: the number of adults killed is 6, not 8.

7 thoughts on “That’s Twice This Week

  1. I really second these thoughts and I admire your commitment to making the world a better place. Did you here about that tragedy today with the firefighters being lured to a fire and shot? When will it end?

    • I didn’t hear about that, no. That’s terrible, especially with it being so close to Christmas. I really wish this could end, but nothing will change until we make a change–which is why it’s important to me to talk about this stuff.

Leave a Reply

